Teacher Preparation

Description

Reading Recovery uses a two-tier level of curriculum for its professional development training. OSU Reading Recovery trainers provide initial training and continuing professional development to coaches who are called teacher leaders. Teacher leaders work at a sponsoring site or district and provide initial training and continuing professional development to Reading Recovery teachers.


Applying to be a Reading Recovery Teacher

Candidates for teacher training must be sponsored by a school district and hold a state-issued teaching license. A minimum of a bachelor’s degree is required.

Sponsoring school districts apply to the nearest licensed teacher training site for an application. (See link, below, for OSU-affiliated teacher training sites.)

Teachers preparing to be Reading Recovery teachers enroll in six (6) semester hours over the course of an academic year and are taught by teacher leaders. Teachers teach Reading Recovery children during their training year. Following the initial year of training, teachers continue to participate in continuing professional development sessions at their local Reading Recovery site for as long as they remain in the program.


More Information

Site Name: Vigo County Schools
Name: Debra L. Britton (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 812-462-4456, ext.79027
Email: dlb3@vigoschools.org

Site Name: Charles County Public Schools
Name: Beverly J. Wells (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 301-753-2088
Email: bjwells@ccboe.com


Site Name: Prince George's County
Name: Kathryn G. Hardman (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 301-808-8280
Email: kathryn.hardman@pgcps.org

Site Name: Atlantic City
Name: Lynn Massari (Primary Contact)


Work Phone: 609-343-7250 Ext 7128
Email: lmassari@acboe.org

Site Name: Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES
Name: Stephanie Smyka (Primary Contact)

Cell Phone: 585-227-2789
Email: ssmyka@monroe2boces.org


Site Name: Nassau BOCES - Greater NY
Name: Mary Ellen Cull (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 516-608-6652
Email: mecull@nasboces.org | mecullrr@aol.com


Site Name: NYC DOE
Name: Jane Montgomery (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 212-239-3950 Ext. 2031
Email: JMontgo@schools.nyc.gov


Site Name: NYC Empowerment
Name: Theresa Fazzolari (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 718-621-4562
Email: TFazzol@schools.nyc.gov


Site Name: Orleans Niagara
Name: Antoinette DiBellonia (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 716-731-6800 Ext. 3770
Email: adibellonia@onboces.org


Site Name: Queensbury UFSD
Name: Maria Muldner (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 518-598-7284
Email: mmuldner@queensburyschool.org


Site Name: Currituck County Schools
Name: Kimberly Robertson (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 252-453-0010, ext.2051
Email: krobertson@currituck.k12.nc.us

Site Name: Ashland/Mansfield City
Name: Teresa Fruth (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 419-289-5370
Email: tfruth@ashland.edu


Site Name: Delaware City
Name: Lori Fitzgerald (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 740-833-1600
Email: fitzgelo@delawarecityschools.net


Site Name: Gahanna East
Name: Cheryl Steger (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 614-478-5575
Email: stegerc@gjps.org


Site Name: Hamilton City Schools
Name: Carla Castator (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 513-887-5011
Email: ccastator@hcsdoh.org


Site Name: Jackson Local Schools
Name: Sharon Ritchey (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 330-353-0571
Email: ser2jc@bearworks.jackson.sparcc.org


Site Name: Marion City Schools
Name: Jennifer Layne (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 740-223-4518
Email: jlayne@mcspresidents.org


Site Name: Solon
Name: Jeff Williams (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 440-349-7756
Email: jeffwilliams@solonboe.org


Site Name: Southwestern/Dublin/Worthington
Name: Leslie McBane (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 614-801-8388
Email: leslie.mcbane@swcsd.us


Site Name: Warren City
Name: Lisa Rek (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 330-841-2312 Ext. 7327
Email: lisa.rek@neomin.org


Site Name: Wright State University
Name: Heather Good (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 937-775-2764
Email: heather.good@wright.edu


Site Name: Zanesville
Name: Allison Karling

Work Phone: 740-453-0575
Email: akarling@zanesville.k12.oh.us

Site Name: Hempfield Area SD
Name: Jodi Schmidt (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 724-850-2501
Email: schmittj@hasdpa.net


Site Name: Penncrest School District
Name: Betsy Tautin (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 814-763-2314
Email: btautin@penncrest.org


Site Name: Wilson SD
Name: Mary Glass (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 610-670-0180 ext. 3316
Email: glamarc@share.wilsonsd.org

Site Name: Arlington School District
Name: Kathleen Kane (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 703-228-8882, ext. 4
Email: kathleen.coyne@apsva.us

Site Name: District of Columbia Public Schools
Name: Linda Randall (Primary Contact)

Work Phone: 202-631-3195
Email: Linda.Randall@k12.dc.gov